Colombia is not in crisis because of the strike, Colombia is on strike because of the crisis

2 Jun 2021 New York, NY, USA 2 Jun - 2 Jun

Colombia is not in crisis because of the strike, Colombia is on strike because of the crisis

  • 2 Jun - 2 Jun
  • New York, NY, USA

The Colombian people have been on general strike since 28 April 2021. The strike was called in response to tax reforms that sought to raise revenue by increasing taxes on basic foodstuffs and essential services such as water, electricity, gas and sanitation.

PSI and LabourStart have launched a campaign calling for Colombian government to cease state violence, immediately begin negotiations with the National Strike Committee, and accept the requests of the Inter-American Commission on Human Rights (IACHR) and the United Nations High Commissioner for Human Rights to conduct working visits to Colombia.

Join us live on Thursday, 3 June to hear directly from Colombian union leaders Francisco Maltes, President of CUT Colombia and Margarita Lopez, President of SINTRACUAVALLE Colombia.

15:00 New York | 19:00 GMT | 20:00 London | 21:00 Geneva

The event will be in Spanish with simultaneous translation into English.

You can participate on Zoom or Facebook Live or YouTube.

Read more

The Colombian people have been on general strike since 28 April 2021. The strike was called in response to tax reforms that sought to raise revenue by increasing taxes on basic foodstuffs and essential services such as water, electricity, gas and sanitation.